Almost

It always surprises me when I look through authors and sellers of “holistic living” and it’s simply not as organic as I thought.  Or when someone who might consider themselves part of the apothecary community is more like to intake a pill form of something “healthy and natural” than to actually ingest the natural item itself, even if it be in tea form. Why does this always surprise me?

Just because I’m interested in learning about natural foods and herbs that I could grow myself (such is rosemary, catnip, lemon balm, chamomile, ect.) it doesn’t mean everyone who thinks “holistic” or “natural” thinks like I do.

Not everyone will be interest in the actual plant itself and it’s multiple uses. Most people will find one cure-all previously-plant-now-pill or they will find many for each single problem they have. The functionality of each plant and its many components is really an overload for most people to consider …apparently.
Yet I don’t understand this thinking. It’s taunting to me to understand.

Vegans are similar. I’ve known a couple; I’ve talked to a few more. I understand the general premise, but then the execution surprises me. I find a lot of vegan I’ve spoken with or read their opinions, they simply use dairy substitutes, but they’re still making the general same foods. So it’s not really a lifestyle change, it’s just a lifestyle of substitutes.
They don’t really study or search for different options and and different way of eating, because substitutes are so readily available that there’s no need to be inconvenienced by choosing a different food or a different economical/ecological belief.

It’s like wanting to be different, but in the most social acceptable way. Afterall, you wouldn’t want to be consider the outlandish one, or the extremist, or well… different.

I’m afraid I don’t really understand.

Pardon me for saying, but I find Christianity to be similar as well. There’s a lot to be found within the roots and guts of the Juedo-Christian Biblical foundations. However I don’t meet a lot of people who actually take the time to journey through the heart & core of it all. Instead we who are called by the title of Christians are mostly surfaces dwellers of a substitutionary life.

We like to “substitute” bad habits for Christian ideals. But how often do we search within ourselves to find where those bad habits come from and how to correct the base of it all? How often do we check to see if these “ideals” are legitimately based in the Juedo-Christian faith? Or how much it’s a mix of modern culture’s convenience and an acceptable amount of moralism, which may also touch Christian ideals?

Who cares? Right? I mean can you smell the burn out just from the mention of it?
Maybe I’m asking too much. Expecting too much. Trying too hard. Being too extreme.

Unfortunately this is what I’ve come to know. If I can’t find, learn, and live from something at the core of it… then I find I can’t really believe in it.

I could go the the store and purchase natural remedy de-stress-er tea. Or I could use the lemon balm and chamomile we grew this year, dried this summer, and now store in clean jars, and I could pinch some of that into my tea ball and let it steep in the hot water mug I have.

I could depend on someone else teach me what the Bible says and how it says it week after week, OR I could struggle throw willingness, discipline, and desire to learn what the Holy Spirit will teach me day by day, week by week, and at a rare few moments of sudden awesome revelations and clarity.

I could be vegan and teach those industrial agriculture farms that I won’t support their cruelty to other living beings. OR I could buy from responsible farms, who in exchange give me higher quality meat, eggs, cheese, and so I end up supporting the good guys and not just protesting the bad guys, and I come out healthier for it. The farm business learn that good things also can sell and integrity matters.
OR I could legitimately learn different eating habits, and where to get legitimate proteins and vegetables and Omegas in place that most people may not be aware of.
OR I might even take on the task about learning about food, nutrition, and general health. I might consider how the animals who do get eaten have nurtional needs as well. Are they being met? The soil that contains the planets that animals eat has its own needs, Are the being met? I might learn that we live in world that isn’t coming to doomsday as much as it’s misunderstood and abused. It needs a little help. We need to understand each of out individual consumption comes from a eco-system that isn’t necessarily fragile, but more like perfected. Therefore if we do not purposefully work to keep our perfected eco-system balanced as we take and give, then it might seem like it’s failing.

Similarly, as we give and take from God and from Christian ideals, we might find an imbalance, we might find it to be “fragile”, we might find it doesn’t work exactly like we’d thought or hoped. …and there might even be a reason why it’s not working so perfectly. Maybe something is wrong. But even if something is wrong, that doesn’t mean the whole eco-system of Juedo-Christianity is coming to doomsday. It means we need to make some corrections. We need the mega-marts to reconsider their practices and products. We need to support responsible practices, and not just packaging that says it’s “organic”. We need to remember that living things have nutritional needs, and these needs are easily met in a holistic environment. It’s not too much to ask.

We need to know that we have already made some mistakes that effect our land, our culture, and our children, and it needs healing. …which again will come much quicker in a holistic approach. We need to know that God has greater knowledge and planning, and some of the things we’ve spent centuries ignoring have some legitimacy to them as well. We need to remember the Hebraic-ness of be Juedo-Christian.

We don’t need to go backwards. We need to move forward, but in a less invasive approach. The point of holistic is to understand that each functioning part is intentional. There is good and bad there, but there is a reason each is there. Masking the signs or living continuously in a quick-fix, is not living life. It’s not growing. It’s not healthy.

In Bible in John 4, Jesus has this weird exchange with a lady that he meets. Jesus make the comment, “If you had known who it is that ask for you a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.
I love the lady’s response. I don’t care how anyone else reads it, I see the sass and annoyance in her answer. She’s use to -and tried of- the men with their one-liners. I get it. I’m with her. What makes this guy any different, right?

She sasses Jesus. and Jesus being Jesus, just sits there with her and goes through this sassing conversation her, back and forth.

So the woman final buys into this one-liner of Jesus presented, and she says to him “Sir, give me this water, so that I will not be thirsty or have to come here to draw water.”  Which I imagine is totally said in sarcastic tone. This lady has been around the block. She had to live the rough life. She knows what’s what.  Jesus just seems like another promising “quick fix”, and I imagine she’s not interested today. Because Jesus reply makes me guess her answer was indeed insincere, and they continue their banter a while longer. Then suddenly it’s like she realize this guy is for real.

Suddenly she realizes he’s not offering just a one-liner, but there’s something authentic here. This guy is actually deep, he is actually offering something. She’s surprised.

She’s surprised that the real deal was so… simple. It was so familiar, but at the same time better than what she was familiar with. Jesus met this lady right in the middle of her everyday life.

She knew the religious banter. She knew the men with the one-liners. She knew politics and the name of the game. She knew here way around all the normal venues …but she didn’t know freedom was so close by. She didn’t know authentic was so possible.

She didn’t change her lifestyle to find authenticity. She found authenticity and that changed her life.

We’ve been in the programs, the systems, the hype, the taglines, the box-style “organic” experiences. We want more. We want authentic. …not just a label that says “authentic” or “organic” but something with a holistic nature. Something that’s so familiar, and yet better than anything we’ve ever been affiliated with. Something that fits into our existence, and yet changes our life.  That something which is real, which is life, which is the eco-system we were meant to exist within.

It’s not extreme. It’s possible.
It’s real beyond our current comprehension of reality.
It is life.

One thought on “Almost

Leave a Reply

