Hope for Today

I’m getting older today, which is kind of awesome. I mean when your story is about overcoming and becoming, then getting older is awesome. If your story is about existing and hoping for the glory of someday, then it’s hard… it’s especially hard. Living can be draining where stagnancy resides.

But today is a choice.   Today could be the day we choose life.

There’s this tricky mindset that has crept into Chrsitianity that seems like partial truth. It’s this idea that if once upon time you had an encounter with God then that should set you good for a life time. And I suppose it would work if our god was fairy tale story. If encountering God was like finding Nariana, then I suppose it’d be ok if once upon a time we were okay.

But for some of us… Life doesn’t work like that. For some of us today will be very important.

And it’s not that today is important because something huge and successful, that isn’t necessarily going to happen, but what will happen is choices. Today is important because I can choose to be happy about getting older today, and not fret of other days I might have lost along the way.  Today might be important because today I remember suffering… as a memory and not as my current dilemma.   Today might be important because I hope to do even better than I am today.   Maybe today is important because I am not scared of today.

Today is definitely important because I choose to remember those who may not understand how important today has been. They might be existing, failing, sorrowing, struggling. They may not know that I send them my prayers and love, because today I have enough to share. …and that’s pretty important too.

I haven’t always loved life itself, let alone my life, but today maybe I can do that. Maybe today I’ll share what love I have in my heart in hopes that it can patch up a loss of love in someone else’s heart, because I know how that feels too.

Today is victorious, because I remember pain and I don’t let it hurt me today. The only pain I feel today is knowing others still struggle with their pain, their choices, their waning hope for something better. But that pain doesn’t defeat me, it drives me to continue to hope, to continue to overcome, to continue to be and become.

Freedom is calling me today, and I want to answer. I want to take a plus one or plus 90o and one with me.

Today I will let a friend, a loved one call me beautiful without shunning the compliment. Because today a I grow older gracefully, courageously. Just for today, I can handle that.

One thought on “Hope for Today

Leave a Reply

