Women: Misunderstood

I remember riding in the car and avoid the question, “What makes your blood boil?” I knew the answer immediately, well there are many things, but one thing that has long gotten to me… and I was avoiding answering it because I can be simply too fiery about it. When I sit here and type, I can measure down how provoked I may seem, but face to face, in a small space like a car, and with a new friendship …surely I could see overbearing and unnecessarily opinionated. Yet strangely since that time, it’s been coming up again & again, and it begs me to participate, to listen, to consider, to reconsider, and to engage.

I love this issue: Women.

Women, misogyny, modesty, submission, equal parts, the curse of Genesis chapter 3 (and thereafter), things the apostle Paul didn’t really say, Greek mindsets, sexuality, barefoot pregnant and in the kitchen, self-worth, dating, …and on & on it goes.
It’s an explosion that possibly has no end.
It’s intertwined with pretty much everything. …But just to make it a little more complicated than it already is, I like to add God into the mixture.  Although God often sweetens the deal (so to speak) this is one issue where it really brings out the bitter components, and it isn’t too easy to figure out just why that is.

I spent 10 years trying to really truly know the heart & core of whether or not God hates women. My question came from the actions & philosophies of Christian pastors, authors, speakers, and especially from young Christian men. It was the worst case of the “blame game” that exist in human history, and it’s alive and well today.

Most recently I’ve been fairly “out of the loop” with Christianity, women, and modesty. I figured I’d get back to these issues at some time… but I was wrong… at sometime they’d come creep upon me and beg again for answers and for compassion. Recently, that’s exactly where I’ve found myself. Just today, I watched a movie, read through a dozen blogs, googled, took notes, looked up scriptures, made more notes, and scoffed here & there in between. Shaking my head and bulging my eyes at the ideas which STILL exist in such open-ended conclusion that I wonder if deep down, even the people who are writing and saying these things, know they’re still missing something. I wish I could talk to these people. Not type, but really talk over coffee or even an empty table, and just spend hours with questions, stories, realities, unrealities, and searching for the deeper truth.

How is it in the year 2015 that we still have no better mass conclusion than to say “men are responsible for their thoughts” (internal life)  but “woman are responsible for their bodies and clothing (and sometime for the man’s body as well)” {external life}, and on mass Christianity except this as a good conclusion?!
What about the two become ONE flesh? What about in Christ Jesus there is neither male nor female? What about in Christ Jesus there is NO condemnation? What about the body is more than clothes? What about faith & works, works & faith they go together? How can so many people support a Christianity that say the men do the work in their minds and the women must be responsible for all their outward things? That’s not Christianity! That’s ancient Greek pagan philosophy, and it was disgusting!

Where are the Christian authors, speaker, theologians? Why 15 years later am I still reading the same opinions in other people’s mouths?

These are spiritual matters of the heart and inward person. Modesty, sexuality, love, relationships, attraction (and many others) don’t start outwardly work their way into our heart, spirit, and faith -sometimes in a corruptive matter- No!  These are things that start inwardly with how we view other human beings, what we hold as worth, how we gain power or control or servanthood, how we choose to live socially …these things all come from inward decisions of morals, worth, value, sentiment, priorities.

How long will Christian continue to snub Jesus for the sake of Aristotle, Augustine, Tertullian?
How long will generation after generation of young women will have the unfortunate experience of asking the same question I wrestled for a decade, “Does God hate women”? This questions shouldn’t even exist, especially in the Christian realm, but it does and I hate that.
It makes my blood boil.

It makes me want to make a change in this ol’ world. But what can I really do? For now, I write, I research, I take notes, I talk (mostly to my husband), I hope and pray. I don’t think these task are world-changing, but it’ll have to do for today.

Leave a Reply

