Don’t Lose Your Voice

My brother started my interest into Mother Teresa and Saint Francis of Assisi. Who are these saints who believe in walking out their life first so that their words maybe seen? Am I one of them? Could I be?

They are not alone. I know there are many great saints who are able to do this. But in a world that quibbles loud and long over things that really, really, honestly don’t matter… I get a little fearful. I grow a little sense of isolation. I think I might just be the only one who wants to ram these ridiculous presumptions right of the edge of concern. I start to feel as others are eyeing me as the one who causes trouble and needs to be taken down a peg, so that they can more easily bit & devour whatever they please. I start to wonder if I need to reshift… just a little. Just to make sure that I’m going at this the right way.
I admit it … I own a little fear in my soul.

In times like these, it’s good to know what I fear most, so that I can make my decision with the lest regretful consequence, because surely all choice from here have regretful consequences of some kind. I’m in too deep not make an offensive of some kind.

I fear sameness and stagnacity, and the degrading affects it has on all things which are of life & living. I fear those who fail to see a problem because they themselves just want to be happy with what-is, even if what-is is bad, degrading, abusive, destructive, stagnate, synthetic.
I fear those who close their eyes, turn their heads, pull the curtain, shut themselves in.
I fear becoming that person, slowly & surly, even unnoticeably slow. I gulp and swallow hard as I even think of it.
I fear apathy seeping into the souls of those who call themselves Christians. I fear the silence of the majority. I fear my own silence and letting things just continue as they are because no one will listen anyways. I fear giving up this moment for some great thing I hope for in the future.

I fear that you might think you’re alone,
and that you have to be silent because it’s useless to speak up.
(You can talk to me. I don’t want you to be afraid.)

I fear my generation will perish and none of the elders will notice.

From whom and from where will the next great saints come? Who will notice that words have become empty so much faster than actions themselves dissolve in ones life? Who will love just because love is needed? Who can put aside their insight and theological ideas and professions to speak with of voice of kindred spirit? Who will concern themselves with the heart of God above doctrinal stances? Who will ask for silence when the crowds beg for answers? Who could be so bold?
Could I? Could you?

We live in an age that gives us this, at the very least, we have these blogs and the internet. We have cellphones and text messages. We have status and tweets, photoshop and forums.
We have a chance to care.
We have chance to use our voice, and to see if anyone else out there feels the same. If anyone else out there notices something in the sky, or in the wind, or a strange feeling that, though everyone else maybe happy and content, something…something is changing… and it doesn’t feel just right. It doesn’t feel like we’re ready.

You have a voice, don’t be silenced.

Don’t stop, or give up here because you don’t see this going anywhere. Hey, you & me, we’re in a club now.  We’re both on this adventure that allows us to search, to be scolded, and to grow. We’re going somewhere together, along with many others who we didn’t realize have been going along this path for some time now.

These were all commended for their faith, yet none of them received what had been promised,  since God had planned something better for us so that only together with us would they be made perfect.Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.
Hebrews 11:39 – 12:3

In a day & age where people are just concerned about their own life and their own walk and just making it heaven (at best), let us remember the saints. They didn’t live their lives like they did just so we could be habitually complacent and comfortable argue about what edges need polished.
I can’t see any reason to participate in a faith that is only for here & now. If I don’t realize I am part of something bigger, I make all other efforts devoid.

I must know what to fear, I must know my own priorities, but I mustn’t forget those who have shined their light on this pathway. I am not alone.
We have not been alone. All this time, we have been cheered on by those who have gone on before us. We have been prayed for by faceless kindred spirits beside us. We have been blessed by the voiceless, when we speak for Love’s sake, and when we condemn the silencing of the defenseless. …then we are united. Then we walk together. Then we love one another. Then we have washed the feet of the oppressed.

Don’t give up your voice my dear friends, and I will try not to silence my own as well. Your heart has encourage me. Come let us walk together, and then speak my dear friend(s) for I long to hear the voice of my kinsmen. I long to hear the voice of Love.

Who will be the saints of this generation? Are you ready for this call?

One thought on “Don’t Lose Your Voice

Leave a Reply

