What are you hungry for?

As small child I remember waking for Saturday morning cartoons so early my parents weren’t up, but for whatever good-parenting reasons my mom trained me to wake her up if I woke up first. I did. She’d get me a little bowl of cereal and sit me down in front of the appropriate Saturday morning cartoons. …and I think she went back to sleep to be honest but I never paid any attention thereafter, until I need a refill by which point she’d magically be in the kitchen again.

When I was a teenager it was quite the contrast. I still loved cartoons, but you couldn’t get me out of bed on any given day for just about any ol’ reason. I love sleep and I want to stay in bed till noonish… if it’d be possible. It was never possible. I did not like mornings, and especially cheery people in the mornings. It was too much too soon. However at sometime in my teenage years I found out I did like getting up before the sun and watching it rise …I just didn’t want to be up for the next solid 16hrs after that. I’d rather go back to sleep.

Even now, I am not too much accused of being a morning person. Those moments have been rare. But just about always I have something I hope for as soon as the day begins. Most days its nearly the same thing, and a couple years ago about this time it would have been just to get a nap later in the day. Yet even without being a morning person, I wake up most days with hope (with the exception of some bad days). I awake up and do what I feel is the responsible thing to do (most days). I try to use my time wisely, learn something new, care for those whom I love, say a few prayers, be a bit creative, and live.

Recently I came across an exchange between Whinne the Pooh and Piglet which makes me wonder, What do we ask ourselves when we wake up in the morning? Do we expect anything new in this day? Do we hope still? Do we hunger …and what for?

“When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,” said Piglet at last, “what’s the first thing you say to yourself?”

“What’s for breakfast?” said Pooh. “What do you say, Piglet?”

“I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?” said Piglet.

Pooh nodded thoughtfully. “It’s the same thing,” he said.”
A.A. Milne

It’s as beautiful as it is simple.

Yeshua HaMashiach is quoted as saying: “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst after righteousness, for they will be filled.”

Is it true? Is there anything in this life that’s filling? We are always hungry for more. It can’t come in fast enough.

A couple of years ago, my husband & I changed from eating the usual supermarket meats to a local turkey farm that was between our work & home and is well-known in the area. They’re good! Some things cost a bit more, but we enjoyed it as a new challenge. Sometime later in the year, while eating with friends & family we had some regular name brand supermarket meat. I was surprised to find it tasted terrible! At first I couldn’t figure out why it tasted gross to me, but eventually I realize that my husband & I had become accustomed to “real food” even deli meat that’s made more authentically makes a huge difference. However I don’t think we would have ever noticed a big difference if we didn’t stick with the local deli-turkey-farm-store for most of the year. If we’d merely added it to the usual supermarket meats and inter-mixed the diet we might have not noticed. Yet the contrast left a stunning difference that we’ll long remember.

In most of America we do this crazy little thing where we say we’re hungry for . . . and then name something we think we need like Cold Stone Ice Cream. But we’re not actually hungry for it as much as we’re craving it. Once in while I crave some deep fried nasty-for-you food. It sounds good, it smells good, it crunches like none other, but most of the time I can resist or wait out this craving.

I like to be in control of what I “have to have”. I don’t like being controlled by whims or cravings or “needs” that aren’t really needs but are luxuries. Having a full fridge and 8+ condiments is a luxury. Having something to eat today and tomorrow is a blessing, which I am constantly thankful for and I’m not always sure how it happens.
I like to remember my blessings as well.

In the Christian realm fasting is something that is encouraged for a short spurts. When we “fast” something (in this terminology) it means we give up something that pleases us for a while. When we fast like this, we begin to see that the differences between what we need and what we want; where we crave and where we truly hunger; when we’re being amused and when we’re being imprisoned by things.

When we step away from something for a moment, we begin to notice a difference. Sometimes we have to be parted from some thing to see that it isn’t so healthy for us, and moreover it’s not filling. Maybe it’s not even as authentic as you’d once told yourself that it must be.

So when you wake up tomorrow morning (God willing) what will be that first thought upon your mind? Where will your hunger take you? Will you seek something truly authentic, even if you don’t notice a difference right away? Are ready for a challenge or a change or Truth?
What are you hungry for?

Leave a Reply

